Flute Seasons

Flute Seasons

Flute Seasons will be the upcoming recital for flautist Silvio Zammit and pianist Ramona Zammit Formosa.  The recital will be held at the Oratory of St. Francis of Assisi in Republic Street, Valletta, as part of the series of Lunchtime Concerts. It will be held on Tuesday 26th January 2016 at 12:30pm

Mro. Silvio Zammit is a brilliant flautist with over 25 years of experience in flute performance and teaching.  Together with his piano accompanist, Ramona Zammit Formosa, who is also a very versatile musician, they will be performing an excellent repertoire of flute and piano music.

Fantasy Flute has an eclectic repertoire which will feature some of the most famous pieces of classical music of all time the programme will include Mozarts Sonata in D (Allegro-Adagio-Allegro);  Mendellsohns Two sketches (Andante cantabile-Presto agitato) (piano solo): Elgars Bavarian Dance no.1 op.27 and Faure`s  Berceuse  from the Dolly Suite, amongst others.


The music performances will take place in the baroque Oratory, which was originally the friars refectory.  Over the years, it had been transformed into an oratory; hence it is beautifully adorned by magnificent baroque paintings, an elaborate gilded altarpiece and original monks benches. The oratory is usually closed to the public; therefore the lunchtime concerts are a wonderful way to experience the fabulous music and the beautiful chapel. 

The regular performances present varied performers and musicians, who present sparkling and stimulating classical music on a weekly basis. The events are fund raising events for the Franciscan Church, which is undergoing extensive structural restoration. Tickets for the lunchtime concerts, costing 8 euro, can be obtained from the venue itself half an hour before the concert begins. For more details phone 7968 0952 or email:



Loeillet-Sonata in F (Adagio-Allegro-Adagio-Giga)

 Cimarosa-Sonata in G

 Mozart-Sonata in D (Allegro-Adagio-Allegro)

 Mendellsohn -Two sketches (Andante cantabile-Presto agitato) piano solo

 Elgar -Bavarian Dance no.1 op.27

 Faure` - Berceuse  (Dolly Suite)

 STRAVINSKY-Sinfonia (Pulcinella Suite)